Adventures in cooking

As I mentioned in my last post I have been trying to learn new recipes. My hope is that I can cut down on eating out as much and try to have home made meals more often.

In theory that should be relatively easy, right?

Wrong.

I like to think that I am pretty capable of cooking things. Granted I don’t fix any 5 course meals but when I do fix dinner I like to think it’s a pretty complete meal. Then I started to notice that most of what I was fixing came from a box. Hamburger Helper, Velveeta dinner kits, that sort of thing. Not that I see anything wrong with that because quite frankly they are very good. But how much am I really learning from fixing things out of a box? So I made yet another goal for myself. I’m going to fix things that don’t come in a box.

Night #1

Messenger_5842067097600485953_13928573364529095

Taco night! Nothing all to special about these but they were really good. Just some taco seasoning in the beef along with a little salsa and taco sauce. To go with the tacos I just got some mixed cheese and sour cream but nonetheless they made a very good meal.

Night #2

20140220_205350

This is the one I’m most proud of. It was kind of a last minute decision but it went a lot better than expected. So the baked beans and mac n’ cheese were not creative; the burger was the meal maker. The hamburger was put in a bowl and I threw in some mixed cheese, real bacon bits, garlic powder and A1 sauce. It doesn’t sound all that astonishing but they taste amazing. Definitely adding these to my repertoire.

Tonight

Okay so I’m not perfect and I have a slight tendency to get distracted from my goals every now and then. But in my defense everyone else in the house had already eaten dinner from somewhere else so I decided

20140221_200226

to get some sushi. The chef did a very wonderful job.

 

All future cooking adventures will hopefully be in a section all to themselves.

The rest of the day has been pretty relaxed. Played some Lego Batman and read some Neil Gaiman. Tomorrow (depending on the weather) I may go on a hike with a pup from the local shelter. Hopefully it’s nice because I really want to get out of the house. 🙂

“Try to learn something about everything and everything about something.”-Thomas Huxley

This entry was posted in Cooking Adventures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

