Day Trip

As I mentioned in my first blog I love spending time with my mom. We get along well and have tons of fun together. So when my history professor told us about a field trip that we could invite a guest to the first person that came to my mind was: mom.
The trip was to the International Civil Rights museum in Greensboro,NC. If I’m being completely honest I was interested in going but I did think it was going to be a little boring. Boy was I wrong.
After a few hours of a drive (full of laughs and good times) we finally arrived and met up with the class. When the tour started I could already tell that there was not going to be a dull moment. We saw a robe from an actual Ku Klux Klan member and learned that at least 1,000 of them are still active even today. Our tour guide told us about horrible crimes against African Americans including children as young as 10. I already had knowledge of some of the things that he was telling us but I learned more about them along with so much new information. The museum itself is the actual location of the diner that 4 students started a peaceful sit-in to be allowed to eat at the bar rather than have to carry out the food. The bar had not been moved and was simply just refurbished a little where needed. An old cash register sat at the end and the menu was still up on the wall. 65 cent for a turkey dinner; 6 cent for a hot chocolate; 3 cent for a slice of apple pie. So interesting to see such prices. I mean yeah we have the dollar menu now but back then you could get a full meal and dessert for less than a dollar!
I say all that to say this. I learned a lot today and had a lot of fun learning it. I definitely recommend a stop there if the opportunity presents itself.After we got done at the museum we had an excellent lunch with the rest of the class then mom and I ventured out to the Four Seasons shopping center. Wow. That place was huge! 3 floors of stores. Cinnabon, Ruby Tuesday, Forever 21…so many places. Of course we didn’t get to walk half of it before we had to venture back home but we did make time to stop in a candy store to get a custom bag of Jelly Belly’s and we got a photo strip made.
All in all, many fun times were had and tons of information was earned.
Now I do believe it is time for some much needed relaxing and sleep.

“We must learn to live together as brothers or perish together as fools.” -Martin Luther King, Jr.

This entry was posted in Content and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

